If It Ain’t Broke – 1.01

I love the Sims. I love sim stories. I’ve never written one down.

This is the story of Bonnie Broke (originally from my long-running Sims 2 game, and the grand-daughter of Dustin Broke) as she heads out into the big wide world to forge her own identity.

This is a legacy because I’m going to play the family line from Bonnie down to whichever lucky bundle of pixels makes it to the 10th generation. I’m not following any other legacy rules, I’m old, I play Sims in my spare time and I’m going to do what I want. I may add rules as I go along, but for now I just want to learn the game, have fun, and maybe ruin some lives along the way.

All that being said, let’s meet our founder!

Bonnie Broke

Traits: Family-Orientated, Childish, Cheerful

Aspiration: Have a large family

Bonnie Broke – Cheerful!

Bonnie escaped Pleasantview with just the clothes on her back and 20,000 simoleons in her pocket. I didn’t fancy any building at this stage, so I plonked her down in Critter Cove, let EA furnish the place, and leaving her a nice chunk of money to live off for a little while.

If she doesn’t burn the place down first, that is!

As a Cheerful sim, Bonnie was delighted to meet her neighbours, Travis and Summer. She instantly hit it off with Summer, but was evidently deeply suspicious of Travis. Maybe it’s the hat.

She rolled a whim to keep bees, so like the good and benevolent Watcher I am, I let her buy the hive.

I hope they bring you endless happiness.

This is a legacy, so we need to get Bonnie married off. I sent her to the park, where she met DON LOTHARIO.

Confession time: I love Don Lothario. In the Sims 2 game Bonnie was originally born in, Don was my favourite. He was an incredibly caring father and grandfather, and I let him live way beyond his time because I just couldn’t let go. So in this game, Bonnie was instantly and with no input from me whatsoever, drawn to his chiselled features.

Just look at those cheekbones!

He was a smooth talker, so pretty soon they were off on their first date. Don proved his masculinity by dropping to the pavement and ripping a set of sweet sit-ups.

Manliness

Bonnie was instantly smitten. Does your man do sit-ups in his overcoat? I thought not.

They didn’t actually get too far on the first date, so Bonnie went home to improve her cooking and hang out with her new BFF.

“Don… Lothario?”

That’s the face of a woman who knows what’s up, but Bonnie didn’t care, even when Summer told her that Don lives with three of the hottest girls in Oasis Springs. What could possibly go wrong?

Her cooking DID start to improve, and she spent some time reading Parenting skills books in preparation for the family she knew she would have one day soon.

Ah, the sweet taste of success! She made a full serving of egg on toast, and continued to eat the leftovers for most of the rest of her life.

Yes, overall things were looking good for Bonnie. She was still living off her initial grant money, as she didn’t realise the Babysitting career was part time (oops!), but she was just one young woman. She had a roof over her head, food in the fridge and a blossoming romance to keep her warm at night.

Even the bees were starting to like her! What more could she need.

Well… Maybe she was missing something. No matter how often they hung out, Don didn’t seem to want to go further than a bit of flirting and hand-holding.

Bonnie had to text Summer during their dates: “What am I doing wrong???”

You just need to be persistent, Bonnie. Or give up and find a man that values you for you. But that’s REAL LIFE advice, and has no place in a Sims legacy.

Bonnie vowed to win him over.

They visited the desert together.

Bonnie even went with him to his favourite place to get swole (she did not get swole)

Until finally…

Finally!

It was time for some puritanical Woohoo under the covers!

And of course this is just the prelude to a beautiful life together. Surely Don would propose, they would move in together, get married and have a flight of little scamps to fill the house.

Not long after that first fateful Woohoo, Don made his confession. He was Non-committal. He just didn’t like to be tied down. To work, to women, heck, even to children. He liked life to be easy-breezy, casual. Bonnie was cool with that, right?

Moments later she read him a sonnet she had composed to confess her love.

Super easy-breezy, eh Bonnie?

The poor thing was absolutely smitten. Don stayed over most nights, but never stayed long enough to do the dishes in the morning or fix a broken toilet. I was beginning to worry this was not the Don I knew from Pleasantview.

Bonnie confided in Summer: “We’re keeping it casual. I did make him these biscuits, though.”

“In the shape of hearts?”

“…”

It was some time after this, when I had apparently forgotten to take any relevant screenshots, that Bonnie began to notice some… changes. She woke up feeling uncomfortable, and she vomited on the beehive. As a Family-oriented Sim, she knew something was coming. Something … non-casual.

To her credit, she tried the subtle approach first, just *casually* reading parenting books on the sofa next to Don.

But it was no good, Don was not taking the hint. It was time for the direct approach.

“Don – I’m pregnant!”

I think Don’s face says it all.

11 thoughts on “If It Ain’t Broke – 1.01”

  1. I like Bonnie already. That Don, though. Hopefully she can turn his attitude around game-wise. 😀 And I love the sims facial expressions in my gameplay of “Plain ol’ Legacy”. You can tell a lot about the sim that way. No words needed.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you like Bonnie, I loved her in my old game, but I was getting a bit fatigued by Sims 2 by the time she grew up. She has a whole family history I may need to write up as a Bonus chapter.

      Don’s face is just hilarious in general!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a simple person. I see the word ‘catastrophe,’ I click. And what’s this? Photo captions? Bee box lampshading? Cue ‘This is How We Do It’ playing in the background.

    I’m also curious to know what Bonnie’s sonnet sounds like: I expect sonnets to be chock full of hidden sexual imagery, but don’t know what that would look like for these guys; a beginner might also get stuck on the “make it rhyme” part and then it reads like someone using a narrow plank of wood to cross a gorge.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment